jump to navigation

Veggi-goodness February 1, 2011

Posted by cirellih in Food, Health, Motivation, Planning.
Tags: , ,
add a comment

How to stay within my daily points and stay satisfied? Have some veggi-goodness!

How can you go wrong with a Boca Burger, spinach, pickles, ketchup and mustard? You can’t. It’s perfectly filling, delightfully savory and it’s fast. Basically it fits all of the qualifications in my book for a great lunch.

Sometime You Feel Like Coconut February 1, 2011

Posted by cirellih in Food, Health, Motivation, Weight Watchers.
Tags: , , , ,
add a comment

Each Weight Watchers meeting we are given a booklet that has some helpful hints that pertain to the topic of discussion. For example, this week’s meeting was about being more active, so the booklet was about walking plans. They also contain some glorious recipes!

I give you Coconut Shrimp!!!

The recipe is ridiculously easy. It doesn’t take long, and the result it delectable!

The Recipe:

  • 8 small shrimp, shelled and deveined
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 2 splashes of skim milk
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup coconut
  • 1/4 cup panko crumbs
  1. Preheat the oven to 450*
  2. Mix 1tbsp of flour, salt and milk together.
  3. Drag shrimp through the remaining flour, shaking off any excess.
  4. Dip the shrimp into the milk batter.
  5. Mix the coconut and panko crumbs together. Press the shrimp into the mixture.
  6. Spray a baking sheet with cooking oil.
  7. Place the shrimp on the baking sheet. Lightly spray the shrimp with cooking spray.
  8. Bake for 12 minutes until the shrimp is pink on the inside.

I decided to serve this with spinach and pepper pasta. Not a particularly conventional pairing, but it hit the spot.

The Best Part of Waking Up… February 1, 2011

Posted by cirellih in Food, Health.
Tags: , ,
add a comment

Is oatmeal in my bowl! I have become obsessed with my morning time treat: Better Oats, Oat Revolution.

The packaging is awesome. Simply tear off the top, pour out the oats, and use the package as a measuring cup. It makes my busy mornings decidedly easier.

Besides, I can fancy up my oats in a variety of ways. A handful of blueberries. A spoonful of almond butter. A few slices of banana.  It doesn’t take much to take my oatmeal to the next level!

Just two minutes, half a banana and a dollop of my home-made almond butter later, I am in oatmeal heaven. There truly is not better way to start off a cold winter day!