jump to navigation

Fiesta Fever! February 5, 2011

Posted by cirellih in Food, Weight Watchers.
Tags: , , , , , ,
add a comment

Tonight was Fiesta Night, and believe me, I really know how to have a fiesta in my mouth! I used the Weight Watchers recipe for Spicy Beef Tacos. After a few minor changes, I think that we have a winner.

A few spritzes of cooking oil in a frying pan. Two minced garlic cloves and a jalapeno into the pan. Sautee until tender ~1 minute. Add in 3/4 pound ground beef. I used grass-fed beef for this. Cook until the beef is browned. Add in one can of diced tomatoes, 1 1/2 tsp ground cumin, 1 1/2 tsp coriander, and 3/4 tsp salt. Cook this until most of the liquid has been evaporated/absorbed.  [WW’s suggests that you use corn tortillas that you bake until almost crisp, but not so crisp that you can’t fold them.] Warm two small whole wheat flour tortillas. Top with your choice of veggies, cheese and salsa. Enjoy!

 

That green monster in the back ground is what both of my tacos looked like eventually. I would definitely make these again. So savory, so spicy, so satisfying!

Seafood Smorgasbord February 5, 2011

Posted by cirellih in Food, Health, Weight loss.
Tags: , , ,
1 comment so far

Living in Baltimore last year it was easy to become fish obsessed. Everything was fresh… especially the crabs. I couldn’t get enough of them whether it be in steamed or cake form.

Last night, as a treat, my hubby got me a crab cake for dinner to go along with a nice fillet of sole.  All I had to do was sprinkle a little “Old Bay” Seasoning on the fish, and it was like I was back on the East Coast!

 

Asparagus was on sale this week, just to make things even better!

There are few things that make me happier than having a thoughtful husband, and my favorite veg being on sale!

Leftover Makeover February 5, 2011

Posted by cirellih in Food, Health, Weight Watchers.
Tags: , , ,
add a comment

Leftovers can be drab. They can be boring. Not always what you are looking for.

But I have a remedy.

 Give your leftovers a makeover!

The other night I had stir fry, which was delicious. But the next night I wasn’t in a particular mood for Asian. So with a little badda-bing, badda-boom my meal turned Italian.

 

 

I’ll admit it… I wasn’t sure that the combination of bamboo shoots, baby corn and soy sauce would go terribly well with spaghetti and tomato sauce. It was a pleasant surprise when it worked out!

It didn’t take much to make my delicious veggies into a completely new meal!