jump to navigation

I Blame the Cookies! February 15, 2011

Posted by cirellih in Food, Goals, Motivation, Weight loss, Weight Watchers.
Tags: , ,
add a comment

So, last Saturday was not the best. Yes, it was my weekly weigh in. Up until now it was nothing to dread. Consistant weight loss for the last few weeks!

That joy had to come to an end.

I stepped onto the scale.

The nice weigh in receptionist didn’t say a word. My chest began to fill with dread as I gathered my coat and meeting materials.

I found a seat, carefully settled in, and finally gulped as I looked at my weekly card.

0.0 lbs lost.

How was it possible? I thought back to what I had done throughout the past week. I had exercised. I thought I had eated good meals. Then a nasty thought spread through my brain…

We had had mint chocolate dipped oreos at work.

I repeat mint chocolate dipped oreos. Those little buggers are 90 calories a pop, addictive as all get out and delicious to boot.

Next week, I’m investing in lots of gum. No temptation there!!!

Creature Comforts February 15, 2011

Posted by cirellih in Food.
Tags: , , ,
add a comment

Coming from Upstate New York, I feel as though my idea of comfort foods is different from most people’s.

Chicken Riggies, lasagna, spaghetti and meatballs, garlic bread, baked ziti… all are firmly on my list of foods that are cozy and necessary on a cold winter’s day.

No, I’m not Italian. I did, however, marry into an Italian family.

Nevertheless, last week it was cold. The kind of cold that chills to the bone. The kind that makes you want to stay indoors safely in the confines of your bed with a tureen of tea and a glorious book. Sadly, it was also the kind of cold that due to work, you have to abandon the tea, cast the book aside and brave the elements.

When I got back from work, baked penne was a must.

I fried up a few Italian sausages from the Boulder Sausage Company. Boiled up some penne. Added in some mushroom and olive tomato sauce. Covered it in mozzarella cheese. Baked it at 400* until the cheese was melted. Mmmm, just what I wanted. It really hit the spot!