jump to navigation

Pedometer Power January 26, 2012

Posted by cirellih in Exercise, Food, Goals, Health, Lunch, Motivation, Moving.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I have recently acquired a pedometer. This may seem like a mundane piece of information, but it is shaping up to be a pretty exciting purchase.

The goal: 10,000 steps per day.

The reality: Trying to beat my record of 15,573 steps from the weekend.

Who would have thought a pedometer could be so addicting? It’s a great way to get motivated!

Apparently, I have not changed much since grade school. I was the type of student who lived for stickers. Tell me that I need to get a certain number of stickers on my homework to get a prize… I would do extra credit out the wazoo. A great student pencil for doing well on a test, I was so there.

Now on my pedometer, I have a little animated person who lifts their digital arms in the international symbol of victory:

This, my friends, is all I need to make me want to reach the 10,000 step goal each day. I only have 8,254 steps? Let’s go for a walk Oliver! It might seem silly, but it works.

For lunch today, I needed some power foods to get me through the afternoon. Lentil soup from my co-worker definitely fit the bill for a hearty, stick to you ribs kind of meal.

Curry Lentil Soup:

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp canola oil
  • 1 tbsp non-hydrogenated margarine
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 tsp cumin powder or seed
  • 1/2 tsp curry powder
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp turmeric powder
  • 1/2 tsp coriander
  • 6 cups water
  • 1 cube vegetable bouillon
  • 1 lb lentils

Directions:

  1. Saute the onion and garlic in the oil and margarine in a saucepan until tender.
  2. Add the spices and saute for one minute.
  3. Add the water, bouillon, and lentils.
  4. Cook until the lentils are tender. About one hour.

A side of garlic bread, and I definitely was ready to go on that extra-long walk in the afternoon. The soup was perfect. Nice and thick with lots of spices and onions. Great for a cold winter day!

Comments»

1. J Rand - February 3, 2012

What? no carrots, kale or crispy croutons? Definitely needs color or a splash of vinegar as a finishing touch……….

cirellih - February 3, 2012

When I make this recipe myself, I will definitely be adding in some carrots. It was delicious as is, but certainly would benefit from a few more veggies!

2. Lindsay H - February 3, 2012

I’ve always been intrigued with the pedometer concept just because I think I would fall into the same category of person as you are in and just delight in getting to 10,000 steps a day. Where did you get one?

cirellih - February 3, 2012

I actually got it on Groupon. It’s this little digital one that clips onto your pocket, and calculates number of steps, distance walked, and calories burned based on your weight, height and stride length. It’s called an Omron Gosmart HJ-203YL Dual Axis Pedometer with Activity Tracker. It’s pretty nifty!

Lindsay H - February 3, 2012

You so fancy, girllllllll. 🙂 I like that your pedometer is so legit. Someone once gave me a free pedometer, and it honestly tracked steps when I was just sitting down. Such a piece of junk….I think when I get a pedometer, it’ll have to be a more quality one.


Leave a comment