jump to navigation

Lazy Sunday Morning February 12, 2012

Posted by cirellih in Breakfast, Craving, Family, Food.
Tags: , ,
trackback

I really enjoy family traditions. It’s probably one of the many reasons that I love the Christmas season. I love setting out decorations in the same spots every year. Baking the same cookies, making cranberry relish, singing the same carols, and wearing cracker hats.

There are other traditions that my family has throughout the year. One of the best is the Sunday morning tradition of pancakes. Now, Chris and I don’t often have pancakes or waffles, but today we decided to go for a big breakfast/brunch.

I don’t always want maple syrup, so today I opted for a berry mash to top my pancakes. I try to keep frozen berries in the freezer, specifically for days like this! They definitely come in handy, you can pull out as many as you want, and they are quick to thaw.

Today, I also attempted to make a poached egg. They are one of my favorite ways to eat an egg, but I still have not mastered the process.

It came out pretty well today, with minimal shredding of the egg white into the boiling water. Usually when I try to drop the egg into the boiling water, it explodes into ribbons and makes a huge mess in the pot. This was a distinct improvement!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment